Recommended Resources

Contact your Parish Priest and/or Physician as needed

Blessings & Rituals
Blog, Facebook, Support Groups

Laura Kelly Fanucci at Mothering Spirit: “Mothering Spirit

ForYourMarriage Blog post: “Miscarriage

Facebook Group: “Mommy to a Little Saint

Hannah’s Hope Support Group: Contact Laura Fanucci at hannahshopemn@gmail.com

Prenatal Bereavement Support Group: St. Cloud (MN) Hospital – Family Birthing Center 320-252-2700 ext. 53528, or Spiritual Care 320-251-2700, ext. 5462

Books

A Gift of Time: Continuing Your Pregnancy When Your Baby’s Life Is Expected to Be Brief – Amy Kuebelbeck and Deborah L. Davis

After Miscarriage: A Catholic Woman’s Companion to Healing & Hope – Karen Edmisten

Bittersweet…hellogoodbye A Resource in Planning Farewell Riturals When A Baby Dies (book) – available through the Office of Worship, 320-251-9068

Blessed is the Fruit of Thy Womb: Rosary Reflections on Miscarriage, Stillbirth, and Infant Loss – Heidi Indahl

Coping With Pregnancy Loss – pamphlet available through the Office of Marriage & Family, call Sheila at 320-252-4721

Empty Cradle, Broken Heart: Surviving the Death of Your Baby – Deborah L. Davis

Grieving Together: A Couple’s Journey through Miscarriage – Laura and Franco Fanucci

Hiding in the Upper Room: How the Catholic Sacraments Healed Me from Child Loss – Kelly Breaux

Loving Baby Louie: Hope in the Midst of Grief – David and Colleen Currie

Waiting with Gabriel: A Story of Cherishing a Baby’s Brief Life – Amy Kuebelbeck

Care of Fetal Remains

For guidance on how to care for the body of a child after a miscarriage or stillbirth (whether at home or at a medical facility), download this Care of Fetal Remains document.

Medical Resources

NFP Only Physicians in the Diocese of St. Cloud (MN): https://stcdio.org/natural-family-planning/nfp-only-physicians-in-our-diocese/

Decline of serum human chorionic gonadotropin and spontaneous complete abortion: defining the normal curve. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15516387

How Long Until hCG Falls to Zero After Miscarriage? Read More: https://www.verywellfamily.com/how-long-until-hcg-falls-to-zero-after-miscarriage-2371511?utm_source=emailshare&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=shareurlbuttons

Ministries

Elizabeth Ministry International http://www.elizabethministry.com/Miscarriage_Stillbirth.html

Heaven’s Gain Ministries: https://heavensgain.org/

Red Bird Ministries: https://www.redbird.love/

The Mysterious Miscarriage: http://ww.mysteriousmiscarriage.com/home/

Behold Your Child Ministry: https://www.dbqarch.org/BeholdYourChild

Diocese of St. Cloud NFP: https://stcdio.org/natural-family-planning/

Catholic Miscarriage Support: http://www.catholicmiscarriagesupport.com/

Trappist Caskets: https://trappistcaskets.com/

Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep: https://www.nowilaymedowntosleep.org/

Perinatal Hospice: https://www.perinatalhospice.org/

Prayers & Reflections

Prayerful reflections are available below for those who have been affected by miscarriage, stillbirth, infant loss, or a life-limiting prenatal diagnosis.

Reflections for After Miscarriage
Reflections for After Stillbirth
Reflections for After Infant Loss
Reflections for After a Life-Limiting Prenatal Diagnosis
Reflections for Medical Professionals and Ministers

USCCB Articles